Whether you are yogi, a runner, or both, you probably view yourself in particular ways. For example, I tend to gravitate towards negative statements when describing my yoga practice or running (i.e., “I am so tight”, “I am so slow”).

Lately, I have been making a conscious effort to try and find the good things in my practices. Last week I caught myself marveling about how open my hips are now becoming, thanks to the Deep Stretch classes I’ve incorporated in to my routine. After last Saturday’s long run, I even caught myself patting myself mentally because it’s the first time I’d run that far in a long time, and I was happy to have been able to do it pain-free. For the first time, I didn’t focus on how slow I ran…I just focused on the fact that I was able to run safely.

It may seem small, but those are very big things for me. My tendency is to always find the flaws in the things that I do, and to put myself down. My lack of confidence in my abilities makes me see myself many times as not worthy, not good enough, etc. When I initially started saying good things about myself, I immediately chided myself for having “too much of an ego.” I guess I had to find SOMETHING negative to say, huh? Why do I feel that saying good things about myself means I’m egotistical? I have no idea, but I would like to figure out at some point where that’s coming from. 

But as the weeks go by, I find it is getting easier each day to find something nice to say about myself. And you know what, I’m actually starting to believe these things I’m saying! It’s bleeding over into all areas of my life. For example, I’m noticing at work that I’m speaking up more and making decisions on direction.

It’s all about how we perceive ourselves. If we perceive ourselves as weak or inadequate, others can’t help but see us in the same ways. Makes sense, doesn’t it?

What do you see when you look in the mirror? Do you see someone who is strong, confident and/or happy? Or are you looking for the weak spots and pointing them out? Do me a favor. Just for this week, try to find at least one good thing to say about yourself each day. Just one thing. You’ll be surprised at how easy it is to keep it going. And if you can keep it going, just wait and see…the opportunites that will present themselves to you will astonish you!

