“Life is always NOW.” ~~ Tennessee Williams

How many of you out there are “overthinkers”? You know, when you get a thought, that thought turns into another thought, which turns into another, and another…and then before you know it, you’ve thought about a ton of things, none of which really matter RIGHT NOW. Sound familiar?

If so, you are in good company. This is my life most every single day. My husband constantly tells me that my “overthinking” is what makes me a complete stress ball all the time. And you know what? He’s absolutely right. I think things to death, which means I’m rarely ever relaxed because I am always worrying about SOMETHING.  Worrying about decisions I’ve already made, worrying about decisions I need to make. You get the point.

I’ve written at least one blog post before on this topic, but it’s so important, I wanted to cover it again. So many of my friends and family are going through some tough stuff right now. It seems like everyone I love and care about is worried about something, and rightfully so. Many of my yoga students as well…I’ve had several of them tell me about things going on that have just caused tremendous amounts of stress and worry.

I’m a constant work in progress, as you all know if you’ve been reading my blog for any length of time. These past few weeks have been some of the most stressful I can remember in a LONG time, and I could feel the negative effects it was having on me, especially in regards to my health.

So I took my own advice. I stopped and reset. I scanned my body and my mind, at the present moment, and listened to what they were telling me I needed. And you know what? I am glad I did. I ended up changing the workouts I’d planned to do because when I listened to my body, I realized what I’d planned would probably make things worse because the intensity would’ve been too much. I ended up not saying “yes” to everything asked of me, because I realized my mind and my energy were basically depleted…I had nothing to give that would’ve been beneficial to anyone, least of all myself. And so I said “no” and didn’t feel the least bit bad about it. I crafted some really amazing stretches and breathing exercises for myself, and I moved in the ways I needed to move, because I listened.

And you know what? It’s been great. My back has been pain-free since Monday…I’ve not gone this many days pain-free in quite some time. I feel more focused. I feel more at peace. I feel….rejuvenated.

So if you are one of those people who, like me, think things to death…STOP! You can’t change the past, so there is no sense worrying about it. You can’t control what will happen in the future, no matter how much you think you can. All you can do is to focus on RIGHT NOW. What do you need to do RIGHT NOW to help you on your journey to being the person you feel you are meant to be?

In the classes I teach this coming week, we’ll be focusing on connecting to the present moment. On our mats, it’s important to tap in to how our bodies and minds feel in each and every pose, so that we can ensure we’re doing variations that are appropriate…I know I say this all the time in class, so I probably sound like a broken recorder. But if your energy is low or you are nursing a pain somewhere in your body, you may not be able to attempt more advanced variations you may be used to doing…and that’s OK. Remember…don’t think about the past! And don’t think about the variation you hope to achieve someday…worrying about what may never come is a waste of your time and will only cause you to fret if you don’t feel you’ve made enough progress. Simply enjoy, in each and every pose, where you are at that moment. Find that sweet spot where you can truly feel and enjoy what each muscle is doing, where you can breathe deeply and evenly, and where you can let go of all your worries and just be in the moment.

The quote above by Tennessee Williams couldn’t be more appropriate, and was a nice reminder for me these past few weeks. I hope it is for you as well. Life is NOW. Enjoy it!

Namaste,

Melanie

