“No one means all he says, and yet very few say all they mean, for words are slippery and thought is viscous.”  ~~ Henry Brooks Adams

throat-chakra-balancing

The Visshudha (Throat) Chakra is the fifth Chakra, and is located on the spine in the throat area, and is the first chakra to be focused solely on a spiritual plane. It is associated with our ability to communicate, self-expression and purification. It is associated with the color light blue and the element ether (sound). The associated body parts are the throat, vocal cords, esophagus, mouth, teeth, thyroid and parathyroid glands, and upper lungs.

Those who are strong and balanced in this chakra are able to express everything to others and themselves in a way that is pure, honest and kind. Even when it’s a “hard truth” that may not be easy to discuss.

Those who are overactive in this chakra may speak about themselves or others negatively, criticize, and use overbearing words. They tend to be hyperactive, they overreact, and they are very stubborn.

Those who are depleted in this chakra have communication problems. They tend to have a hard time expressing their feelings and ideas, they withhold their words, and they easily surrender to others.

Those who are out of balance in this chakra, in either direction, are more prone to such health issues as laryngitis, colds, throat pain, mouth issues (teeth problems, gingivitis, ulcers), thyroid dysfunction, swollen glands, hearing problems, and jaw problems.

We will be focusing on the Throat Chakra in class this week. To balance this chakra, it is important to include breathing exercises that stimulate the throat, as well as poses that tend to open and work the throat. Incorporating sound (i.e., singing and chanting) is a wonderful way to bring focus to the Throat Chakra. Some things we’ll be incorporating in class will be:

  • Jalandhara Bandha (Throat Lock)
  • Ujjayi Pranayama (Victorious Breath)
  • Simhasana (Lion’s Pose)
  • Purvottanasana (Upward Plank Pose)
  • Sarvangasana (Shoulder Stand Pose)
  • Halasana (Plough Pose)
  • Matsyasana (Fish Pose)

Personally, this is the chakra that I need to work on the most. I tend to be depleted in this chakra quite frequently. My husband always tells me that I let people walk all over me, and I definitely do tend towards doing whatever I can to make sure everyone is happy, even if it means holding my tongue and keeping my feelings to myself. However, I have been working on this chakra a lot over the past year, and though I’ve still got a long way to go, I am definitely seeing that I am more balanced than before. Incorporating sound into my practice has been what has helped the most, along with Lion’s Breath and Ujjayi Pranayama.

The seed sound associated with the Throat Chakra is HAM, and I notice that when I say this sound and put the emphasis on the H (therefore pronouncing it more like “hum”, with the H really drawn out…my husband says I sound like I have a hairball!), it does wonders for me!  For some reason, whenever I practice this sound, I feel extremely empowered after, and I feel like I can say whatever is on my mind, even if it’s tough for someone else (or myself) to hear.

The more I work on this chakra, the more I notice that I am able to speak my truth. Whether it’s speaking the truth to myself about myself, or telling someone else my honest feelings, it’s freeing to finally be able to let things out rather than keeping them all bottled up. I hope that by working on this with you in class, you’ll be able to speak your own truth.

Namaste,

Melanie

