“Remember, it doesn’t matter how deep into a posture you go – what does matter is who you are when you get there.” ~~ Max Strom

DancerPosePhoto courtesy of http://www.magnetictimes.com.au/article-1713.html

Dancer Pose (Natarajasana) is one of the yoga poses that never fails to frustrate me. With my tight hip flexors, quads and chest, it’s virtually impossible for me to find a variation resembling anything at all like what you see in the photo above. In the early years of my practice, I remember pushing myself so hard physically in this pose, trying in vain to achieve what my ego said I should be striving for. More often than not, I’d end up very disappointed in myself, frustrated with my lack of flexibility.

Fast forward quite a few years to the present, and I have a much different outlook. If you’ve been reading my blog for any length of time, then you know that I’ve been working very diligently over the last year or so to refine and rejuvenate my yoga practice. And as you know, it’s taken on a much different flavor than what it used to be. Now, when I step on my mat, I am much better about tuning in and figuring out what my body and mind are craving, and I make sure to engage in a practice that will satisfy my entire being. Not perfect by any stretch, but my practice is definitely moving in the right direction.

While my yoga practice has evolved during this time, it’s also spilling over into my life off the mat. I am SO Type A, it’s not even funny! I’ve always been that person who has to plan out everything, explaining every single little detail, and make sure everyone knows “the plan”. While that’s great for some things, it doesn’t always work. Because when things don’t go as planned, I’m like a fish out of water, totally freaking out and feeling like it’s the end of the world. This rigidity creates so much more stress in my life, and I finally see that it’s not good for my health and well-being, so I am now trying my best to take what I’ve learned ON the mat over this past year or so and get better at applying it to my LIFE.

And, like my struggles with Dancer Pose, I will probably falter and tumble a few times as I find my way. But find my way I will, and I know that I will get better at figuring out who I am as I go. I can’t wait to see the person I am when I finally arrive!

Namaste,

Melanie

